For my last birthday, a friend of mine gave me an amazing recipe book. Amazing, because it has no recipes in it. It’s a blank recipe binder, complete with category dividers, for me to create my own recipe book of my very favorite recipes. A festival of delicious plagarism!

I never would have imagined being able to fill something like that 15 years ago, when I was a confirmed non-cook. I can’t believe how far my cooking has come, from boiling pasta (for too long) and adding a jar of sauce to spending an afternoon reducing a ragu over and over and over again. And enjoying it! I’ll stand there and cook that ragu until it’s as dense and gravity laden as a black hole.

Now that I’ve actually come far enough to get sparks of inspiration for dishes and flavor combinations of my very own, I think it’s the perfect time to fill up that lovely recipe book (it sports on the cover a 50’s era housewife with a look in her eye that says “Is it dinner, or is it a murder weapon?”) and at the same time blorg some of the very best recipes I’ve found over the years. Won’t my bookmark page look empty when I get them all written down!

The first I’d like to share with you is actually a recipe I’ve only recently discovered. It’s by Pam Anderson and it’s called Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler. It’s one of those special go-to recipes that is easy, adaptable, and tastes so much better than the preparation would lead you to believe. You’ll need (my edited amounts and not Pam’s):

2 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
2 cups of sliced or cubed fruit (apples, pears, stone fruit, or berries are ideal)
1 tablespoon sugar

Preheat oven to 175C, and put the butter in a 9-inch round pan. Put the pan in the oven while it’s heating to melt the butter. While it’s melting, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add the milk and mix to a smooth batter. When the butter is melted, pour in the batter, pour in the fruit, and sprinkle with the tablespoon sugar. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes until batter is cooked and brown.

That’s it! I know, it’s crazy, it takes like 10 minutes prep, and this gives you no idea of how truly and outrageously delicious it is. Like it will literally make your tastebuds explode like fireworks, singeing your hair and setting your dining table on fire.

You can adapt it as well. Add vanilla, or cinnamon. Pair it with ice cream or custard. Feel free to use it the next time your husband brings over his mean boss you need to impress so he gets the big promotion, but he forgot to tell you they were coming, and you were just going to make bowls of ice cream for desert, and now you only have a single commercial break to save the day. Promotion ho!

